You are here: LANSA for i User Guide > 5. Housekeeping > 5.4 Task Tracking > Configuring Task Tracking
Configuring Task Tracking

Full task-oriented tracking is the default and requires no additional configuration. Minimum tracking as well as product and developer oriented tracking are configured by inserting a task prefix for each in the Work with Task Settings which you will find via the Review System Settings available from the Administration Menu.

User options are set for each partition as described in 5.8.3 Partition Definitions - Create, Change or Delete.

Tracking by product

Insert the prefix for product-oriented tasks in Product level task tracking prefix in the Work with Task Settings. It is recommended that you use '*T' as the first two characters for product-oriented tasks.

If you follow this recommendation, you could, for example, create task identifiers *T00000A and *T00000B for a Product A and Product B.

Users need to be authorized to product-oriented tasks as usual.

Tracking by developer

Insert the prefix for developer-oriented tasks in Developer task tracking prefix in the Work with Task Settings. It is recommended that you use '*U' as the first two characters for developer-oriented tasks.

It is strongly suggested that an appropriate naming convention be used to identify tasks with users. If you use the recommended prefix, you could, for example, create task identifiers such as *U000BOB or *U00MARY.

Only one user can be authorized to a developer-oriented task.

Minimum tracking

Insert the prefix for a single task for the system in the Minimum task tracking prefix in the Work with Task Settings. The recommended prefix for the single permanent task is '*N'. A suggested name for this task is '*NONE'.

All users can use this task and they do not need to be authorized to it.

 

In addition to the prefixes, for each task tracking level, you can set a Check in unlocking option in the Work with Task settings. When this option is set to 'Y', an object is unlocked from the task both on the IBM i and on the workstation when it is checked in. At the same time, it is changed to read-only on the workstation. To change an object again on the workstation, you must check it out for update.

Your choice of task tracking approach should also be reflected in the task tracking configuration settings of partition definitions. Most notably in the minimum, product-oriented and developer-oriented approaches there is usually no reason to allow users to change tasks while working. In these approaches there is also no need retain task history, so it can be purged.