You are here: LANSA for i User Guide > 4. Processes and Functions > 4.17 Delete a Function > 4.17.2 Confirm a Function Is to Be Deleted

4.17.2 Confirm a Function Is to Be Deleted

When a function has been selected for deletion a display similar to the following example will be presented:

 

 DC@P301201                 Delete Existing Function     

 

 Process : CUSTOMERS  Work with Customers                              

 Function   : Maintain Customers                       

 

        Confirm that this function is to be deleted                    

 

        Delete this Function . . . . . . . . . . ___  YES, NO          

 

 

 

 Fnn=Help  Fnn=Exit  Fnn=Cancel  Fnn=Messages                          

 

 

To delete the function from the process enter YES. To avoid deleting the function enter NO.

When attempting to delete a function from a process that uses the "anticipated usage" HEAVY option the system may respond with a message indicating that not all IBM i objects associated with the function could be deleted and thus the function could not be deleted.

This occurs because the function leaves the associated IBM i display file open and LANSA cannot allocate it for deletion.

In such cases ask all users who have been using the process to sign off and sign on again. This will close the display file and release it for deletion. Remember that the workstation attempting to delete the function may be one of the workstations that has the associated display file open.

Once all users have closed the display file attempt to delete the function again.

For more details of the "anticipated usage" option refer to 4.4 Create a New Process Definition or 4.23 Miscellaneous Process Details.