A work group is a list of Visual LANSA PCs that share the same group of objects and need to be synchronized as a separate group. This use of work groups is optional. Use of repository synchronization does not require work groups to be created in order for changes to be propagated. When no work groups are defined, all propagations go to all repositories. If one work group exists, and the Visual LANSA PC originating a change is not in a work group, the change is not propagated.
For example, the Visual LANSA PCs of a group of developers working on financial applications for a company could form one work group so that they share the latest versions of objects used by the financial applications.
A Visual LANSA PC can be in many work groups or in no work groups at all. It does not have to belong to a repository group. A work group must contain at least two PCs.
The members of a work group can be in the same or different repository groups. When a PC in a work group checks in objects to the IBM i using the host monitor, copies of all these objects are checked out to the repositories of the other members of the group. Where a work group contains two or more PCs defined in the same repository group, the propagations are sent only once to the repository gateway.
In order to set up work groups you just need to know which Visual LANSA PCs share the same work and want to automatically receive changes that a co-worker makes.
Consider the following scenarios involving three developers:
John, Bob and Mary each have their own Visual LANSA PC workstation. Each PC is defined as a repository group, i.e. there are three repository groups defined. No work groups are defined. Whenever John, Bob or Mary checks-in a change to LANSA for i, the change is propagated to all developer PCs using repository synchronization.
Bob and Mary are working on the same application. When Bob checks-in his new objects to LANSA for i, Mary needs to know about these changes, but not John. A work group is created for Bob and Mary to keep their repositories synchronized. John is not part of this work group. When John checks-in his changes, repository synchronization will not update Bob or Mary.
John and Bob have created a second work group. When John checks-in his changes, they are sent to Bob but not to Mary. Likewise, Mary's changes are sent only to Bob. Because Bob is part of both work groups, his changes are sent to both Mary and John.
6.3.1 Repository Synchronization Concepts
6.3.2 What Are Repository Groups??